Artichoke Hearts

9 Mar

My non-specialized Chicken Passero

I’M IN PUNTA CANA FOR SPRING BREAK AND THINGS ARE SO CRAZY RIGHT NOW… okay, so I’m actually home writing blog posts and watching TV. I’m a poor college student looking to move to New York in the next couple of months, gotta save that dough. While everyone else is going wild on Spring Break, I on the other hand, have been trying wild new foods (after I read this back, I realized how sad it made me sound- but it’s true so I’m sticking with it).

The first day I was home, my family took me out to dinner. I chose the Chicken Passero (described on the menu as: grilled breast of chicken sautéed with fresh garlic, sun dried tomatoes, red roasted peppers, artichoke hearts and extra virgin olive oil over pasta). Everything about it made my mouth water, except the artichoke hearts. Usually, I would order something like this and “specialize” it, a.k.a order it without the artichoke hearts.

Side note: People are always embarrassed when I “specialize.”  I take much more time than everyone else and servers actually have to write down my order. So, this is for everyone who has ever had to deal with that. It was nice to be able to just say “chicken passero, please.”

It was hard to taste the artichoke hearts when mixed with everything else so, I scooped one right up and gobbled it whole (A Fresh Taste has really got me being riskier with my food!) It was sweet, almost like an onion I would say. I liked it, but after 2 pieces of bread and an order of bruchetta as appetizers, I barely made a dent.

Artichoke hearts: YummyYumYum

Leave a comment